# Committee for Sydney Minutes of the 2023 Annual General Meeting



Wednesday, 1 November 2023, 3.00 pm Online

## 1. Welcome and Acknowledgement of Country

The Chair, Michael Rose, welcomed Members to the 2023 Annual General Meeting and acknowledged the Traditional Owners of the lands from which members and others were joining the meeting.

Michael commented on the significant change at the Committee for Sydney (CFS) over the past year with the departure of Gabriel Metcalf and Eamon Waterford re-joining the Committee as CEO.

He congratulated the Committee on a great and busy year with excellent advocacy and research.

Michael also noted that with member support, the Committee's team had grown, building depth and knowledge, and he thanked the members.

## 2. 2023 Highlights

Eamon Waterford commented that it had been another big year for CFS and summarised several highlights for 2023:

- major publications including Chronically Unaffordable Housing, Planning for Growth, Bringing Affordable Housing to Scale, Nature Positive Sydney, Defending Sydney, and Future Cities Liverpool
- our other diverse policy work throughout the year
- CFS advocacy throughout the year, on issues including social and affordable housing, Metro West construction underway, vibrancy and culture, mobility and infrastructure, First Nations engagement, energy transition and climate resilience.

Eamon thanked the Committee's Innovation Fund Partners, noting that these organisations have enabled the expansion of the Committee's work. He also thanked other CFS partners and event sponsors who have supported work across the year.

Eamon commented on our strong annual event program, including our 4 major events.

Eamon welcomed the Committee's new team members, thanked the team and members for their contributions for the success of CFS in 2023.

## 3. Approval of minutes

The minutes of the Committee for Sydney Annual General Meeting held on 3 November 2022 were tabled.

#### Resolved:

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 3 November 2022 were approved.

## 4. Membership highlights

Lyn Lewis-Smith, as a member of the Membership Sub-Committee, outlined a number of Membership highlights for 2023. She noted that:

- Our total member base is 160, welcoming 22 new organisations last year. This is an
  increase in our net membership of 12, compared to a net increase of 6 in the
  previous year.
- Support for the Committee is strong, and our membership is growing. Our members are essential to our work supporting our research, advocacy, and events.
- In addition to a growing membership base, we also saw several organisations deepen their engagement with the Committee.
- We have 11 Innovation Fund Partners who support the Committee's research program.
- Lyn also acknowledged the Committee's many events sponsors.
- Lyn thanked Tom Mackellar and the team at Lendlease for their ongoing support and generosity, giving the Committee a home at no cost.
- Lyn also presented the results of our membership survey, noting that the majority of our members rated our work in research, advocacy, and convening as very strong.
   Each of these categories was rated higher than the previous year. This is a testament to the team's focus and their commitment to excellent outcomes for Sydney.

## 5. Finance update

Larry McGrath, a Member of the Finance, Audit & Risk Sub-Committee (FAR), provided members with an update on the Committee's financial performance and position.

Larry noted that the 2022/23 finances for the Committee remain in a healthy position. Total income for the financial year ended 30 June 2023 was \$3.43m, compared with \$2.87m in FY22. In the same period, expenditure was \$3.3m, compared to \$3m the year prior.

The final result for the year was a surplus of \$118,104 compared with a deficit of \$148,846 in FY22. This was an excellent result for the Committee.

Larry noted that the Committee's balance sheet is strong, with assets less liabilities of \$1.27m.

Larry noted the excellent work of the team led by Eamon Waterford and our accountants, Accounting for Good, and he thanked the FAR members for their contributions.

#### **Approval of the Financial Statements**

Larry McGrath referred to the Financial Statements audited by ESV Group. He noted that the audited results reflected excellent work by the management team and accountants.

Larry thanked the team and Tim from ESV for the audit and financial statements together and noted that they had been audited with a true and fair view as per the ACNC standards.

Larry asked if there were any questions concerning the financial accounts and, there being no questions, moved that the Audited Financial Statements for the Committee for Sydney for the period 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023 be adopted.

#### Resolved:

That the Audited Financial Statements of the Committee for Sydney for the period 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023 were adopted.

## 6. Tabling of Certificate of Insurance and Form A12

Michael Rose tabled the Certificate of Currency of the Committee's Public Liability Policy and the Committee's Annual Summary of Financial Affairs to be lodged with the NSW Department of Fair Trading. These were noted as tabled in the meeting.

#### 7. Election of the Executive Committee

Sue Horlin noted that, pursuant to the Committee's Rules, the terms of Members of the Executive Committee (EC) expired at this meeting and that new appointments were required, with 15 Executive positions vacant. It was noted that the Chair and Deputy Chair, Michael Rose and Sue Horlin are still in term with no action required.

Sue confirmed that CFS received no more nominations than positions available by the required date, and that the nominations were in order. As such, there was no need for a ballot in relation to these positions.

She declared the following Executive Committee members re-elected:

- 1. Attila Brungs, University of NSW
- 2. Lisa Chung AM, Warren and Mahoney
- 3. Christine Covington, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
- 4. Doug Ferguson, KPMG
- 5. Kevin George
- 6. John Lehmann, News Corp
- 7. Lyn Lewis-Smith, BESydney
- 8. Tom Mackellar, Lendlease
- 9. Larry McGrath, McConnell Dowell
- 10. James Rosenwax, AECOM
- 11. David Thodey AO, Tyro
- 12. Gabrielle Trainor AO
- 13. Brian Tyson, SEC Newgate Australia
- 14. Seckin Ungur, McKinsey & Company
- 15. Leonie King, City West Housing

Congratulations were extended to all EC Members.

# 8. Any other business

Michael Rose asked if any member wished to raise any other business.

No further business was raised.

### 9. Close

Michael Rose thanked the team for the work in the preparation of the Annual General Meeting and the outstanding results for the past year for the Committee.

The Executive Committee was also thanked for their contribution during the year.

The Chair declared the meeting closed at 3.31 pm.